Australia, the land down under

Australia is situated in the Southern hemisphere under the Equator. That's why Australia is nicknamed "the Land Down Under". It is a country, an island and a continent at the same time.

Australia is divided into six states: Queensland (North east of Australia), New South Wales (South east), South Australia, Victoria (the smallest state), Western Australia and Tasmania (a small island). There are also two territories: the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory (a small land in New South Wales).